Shut up and take your statins

Yahoo! News reported yesterday that Vitamin D supplements ‘do not lower cholesterol in short term’. I cite them because they were one of the few sources to acknowledge via their headline that vitamin D should not be ignored in regards to heart disease. I have documented my own cholesterol and vitamin D investigation in my book.

Let’s look at the juicy bit of this news piece though, shall we?

The study participants were given either 50,000 international units of vitamin D3 or a placebo weekly for eight weeks. Participants’ cholesterol levels were measured before and after treatment.

Buzzer ring!: While 50,000 IU D3 per week is a great dose. 8 weeks does seem too short a time frame to measure. I would ideally suggest 6 months to a year. It took me a few years to optimise my cholesterol level with dose adjustments.

Leave a Reply

