Review: Vitamin D – Improving Pregnancy & Childbirth, 17 May 2011 @ Wellcome Trust Conference Centre

First published on Mo Blogs.

If you weren’t there, you missed Oliver Gillie topless again, and the threat of Dr. David Grimes doing the same. The ladies had to be restrained, if my memory isn’t failing me.

This was the second of three (for now?) English vitamin D conferences – the third of which is on cancer, tomorrow, which I will not be attending – and this one focussed on vitamin D where it matters most: at the beginning of life.

The old adage that prevention is better than the cure may be cliché now, but for vitamin D it still couldn’t be more apt. You have to remember that vitamin D won’t cure or treat all illnesses, but betting that it could prevent most of them would give you a better return than playing the lottery. Besides, why should people suffer in the first place?

The aim of the worldwide vitamin D movement is to make sure that this substance is seen as on par with the clean water we take for granted in the developed world; and I think all the people assembled there – speakers and attendees – are willing soldiers in their own way. And what an assorted bunch.

It was great to see a speaker from India there as one weight I feel on my particular shoulders is that the message is not reaching many people of South Asian origin, which is my background. I’m hoping that my forthcoming book – which is not exclusively aimed at this one group – will help change that, and also find an audience with the almost equally afflicted black community.

Other speakers there included a fourth and final person whom I interviewed for my book late last year, and Elina Hyppönen.

I personally found this conference a bit more informative than the previous one as there were a few new perspectives, especially from Grimes’s presentation. His mention of dysbiosis and inherited susceptibility is almost in line with stuff I’m currently polishing up.

I didn’t mingle as much with people in breaks this time, but one woman I talked to raised my faith in humanity more; an Italian who has helped educate the local Somalian community about vitamin D (people who are black and can be conservatively dressed Muslims), thereby, undoubtedly, preventing some health catastrophes.
Indeed, the wonderful thing about this, and admittedly all health based events, is that they are gatherings for common good. And no one can stop common good. Time gives up in the end.

You can view the slideshow presentations and videos for this, and other conferences, at: www.vitamindassociation.org/events

Leave a Reply

